IISc - Springer Nature Book Author Recognition

Springer Nature Group, in association with the JRD Tata Memorial Library at the <u>Indian Institute of Science (IISc)</u>, Bengaluru hosted a Book Author Recognition Ceremony on 16 January 2024. This event celebrated the academic excellence of top authors from IISc of Springer Nature Books and Book Chapters. The event was graced by honorable Chief Guest <u>Dr. K. Kasturirangan</u>, Former Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), Former Chairman of the National Education Policy Committee, and the current Chairman of the Committee for National Curricular Framework. Dr Kasturirangan has been conferred the civilian honors of <u>Padma Shri</u>, <u>Padma Bhushan</u>, and <u>Padma Vibhushan</u> by the President of India.

The event began with a welcome note by <u>Prof. G. K. Ananthasuresh</u>, Dean of the Division of Mechanical Sciences, IISc. This was followed by the Author Recognition Ceremony where authors were felicitated by <u>Dr. Kasturirangan</u>, Ms. <u>Swati Meherishi</u> (Editorial Director, Springer Nature), and Mr. <u>Vikash Kumar</u> (Director, Institutional and Corporate Sales, Springer Nature). Authors were felicitated across 6 categories with recognition for the top 2 authors in each category.

The following faculty members of the <u>Department of Design and Manufacturing - DM</u> (erstwhile Centre for Product Design and Manufacturing), IISc were among the 12 awardees.

- 1. Prof. Amaresh Chakrabarti (Faculty & Chair, DM)
- 2. Prof. Ashitava Ghosal (Associate faculty, DM)
- 3. Prof. Satyam Suwas (Associate faculty, DM)
- 4. Prof. Bikramjit Basu (Participating faculty, DM)

The event ended with a short talk on "Al in Publishing" by Ms. <u>Swati Meherishi</u>, Editorial Director at Springer Nature, and a vote of thanks by Dr <u>Suresh Balutagi</u>, JRD Tata Memorial Library.

Detailed list of awards and awardees:

S. N.	Award category	Recipients
1	Top Book Author (Number of books published)	Prof. Ranjan Ganguli (Department of Aerospace Engineering)
		Prof. Bikramjit Basu (Materials Research Center)
2	Top Cited Book Author (Number of citations, total)	Prof. Aloke Paul (Department of Materials Engineering)
		Prof. Satyam Suwas (Department of Materials Engineering)
3	Top Downloaded Book (Number of downloads, total)	Prof. PP Mondal (Instrumentation and Applied Physics) https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-94-007-7545-9#about-authors
		Prof. Satyam Suwas (Department of Materials Engineering) https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4471-6314-5
4	Top Chapter Author (Number of chapters published)	Prof. Amaresh Chakrabarti (Department of Design and Manufacturing)
		Prof. Gopalan Jagadeesh (Department of Aerospace Engineering)

5	Top Cited Chapter Author (Number of citations, total)	Prof. R Venkatesh Babu (Computational and Data Science Department) Prof. Anil Vishnupant Kulkarni (Divecha Centre for Climate Change)
6	Top Downloaded Chapter (Number of downloads, total)	Prof. Ashitava Ghosal (Department of Mechanical Engineering) https://link.springer.com/referenceworkentry/10.1007/978-1-4471-4670-4_90
		Prof. Ajay Sood (Department of Physics) https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-319-02850-7

Event photographs: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1HToshaa2SdQ5KsHli6tttTuHn-THGOGl?usp=drive_link